Erase Your Tracks

To be safe, erase any record that you have visited the Nipissing Transition House web site. If anyone has access to your computer, they will be able to see which web sites you have visited unless you erase your tracks.

Some browsers such as Safari and Firefox now have “Private Browsing” mode where you can surf the net without your browser keeping track of your actions. Look under your “Tools” or “Safari” menu to see if you have this option.

NOTE: these instructions can change whenever an update to your web browser is released. If you’re in doubt, surf on a friend’s computer or use Google to find up-to-date instructions.

Here’s a good article on clearing your browsing data for Mac users.

  • PC Windows – Internet Explorer
    (Before closing the Browser)
    Step 1: Select the Tools in the menu bar. Open the Internet Options Dialog Box and select the General Tab.
    Step 2: Under Browsing History, click the Delete button to open a dialog box with a list of checkboxes. Check to delete Temporary Internet Files, Cookies and History. Click the Delete button to delete your data and close the dialog box.
  • PC Windows – Mozilla Firefox
    (Before closing the Browser)
    Step 1: Select the Tools in the menu bar, then select the Options.
    Step 2: Click on the “Privacy” Option, with the picture of a padlock.
    Step 3: Click the “Clear your Recent History” link.
    Step 4: Click OK to exit the dialog box
  • Mac – Safari
    (Before closing the Browser)
    Step 1: Go to “history” tab on the main menu.
    Step 2: Scroll down to “clear history”.
       
  • Mac – Firefox
    (Before closing the Browser)
    Step 1: Go to “preferences” under the “Firefox” tab in main menu.
    Step 2: Click on “Privacy” tab then go to the “Private Data” section on the bottom.
    Step 3: Click “Clear Now”.
       
  • When you clear the cache and the history list, you erase ALL information that had been previously stored there. If your partner notices that the cache and history list have been deleted, he will realize that you know how to delete your tracks as well as possibly thinking that you have something to hide.
  • A way to avoid suspicion is after clearing the CACHE and HISTORY LIST spend some time visiting sites that you think your partner wouldn’t object to. This way, the cache and history list start to get filled up and your partner might be less likely to notice that old information is missing.
  • A spouse or partner can often tell when a woman makes up her mind to stop the abuse. Do not underestimate your spouse. Always erase your tracks.
  • TELEPHONE SAFETY: When you call any organization that assists women in danger, you must be careful to use a telephone that will not keep a record of the number you called. If you call long distance, the phone number will appear on the bill. Even if you call locally, if you use an Internet-based telephone system, with a name like VOIP or SKYPE, records of the call will be kept.
  • Internet-based telephones, which also go by names like “VOIP”, or “Network Telephony”, keep records of all calls. Web-based telephone systems, such as “Skype”, also keep records. You should not use these types of telephone systems to call for information or help, if your partner has access as well.
  • Cell phones can also keep records of the numbers that have been called.
  • A local call made on a regular telephone line will not produce a record of the call. However, many telephones have a “redial” button, and you may want to call a friend or other “safe” number after you make any call you don’t want your partner to know about – they can check up on you just by pressing “redial”.
  • One way to be sure your home telephone uses a regular telephone line is to check your telephone bill. It will come from a Telephone Company, such as Bell or Sprint. It will not list any local numbers, only long distance. If you still aren’t sure, you should use extra caution.
  • If you are in danger, call 911.